For quiries and feedback please contact us on email or phone number +962 6 5680100 ext 1385
Ministry of Water and Irrigation > Royal Comission

 Royal Comission


 His Majesty King Abdullah in February 2008 issued a directive to form a Royal committee to develop the water sector in the Kingdom and to establish a viable water management system.
The new panel, headed by His Royal Highness Prince Feisal, will coordinate its work with the concerned agencies, according to a letter His Majesty addressed to Prime Minister Nader Dahabi.
Noting that Jordan faces “strategic challenges” pertaining to the water sector, water scarcity poses an obstacle to development plans related to industries and various other sectors that require consistent water supply.
The Kingdom has reached its water crisis; present water use already exceeds the renewable freshwater resources by more than 20 per cent, said the study by the Canada-based International Development Research Centre.
The new committee would make sure that water share for individuals and corporations is fair, in order to meet household, industrial and agricultural needs.
In addition, the panel is tasked with working out an efficient water resource management system that ensures “rational water usage”. It is also expected to work on expanding the Kingdom’s water storage capacity.
In addition, the committee will be looking for means to avoid excessive pumping of underground water.
The King underlined the need to study and develop alternative water projects, such as desalination and treatment to enhance water sources.
The King urged the committee to benefit from the international experience in this regard. In addition, the panel should periodically revise relevant legislation in order to create a better environment that encourages the private sector to invest in water management and development.
The names of committee members the ministers of water and irrigation, agriculture and environment, along with the director of the Economic Department at the Royal Court, Bishr Jardaneh, Suleiman Ghzawi, Ayman Bani Hani, Abdullah Malkawi, Elias Salameh, Tareq Abu Dueis and Raed Zreikat.